16.—Distribution of Quebec Hydro Primary Power, by Custo	mer Group, 1954-60
(Coincident with Montreal System neak)	

]					
System	1954	1955	1956	1957	1958	1959	1960
	hp.	hp.	hp.	hp.	hp.	hp.	hp.
Montreal	1.117.000	1.230,000	1.351.000	1,436,000	1.617.000	1,698,000	1,905,000
Beauharnois (local)	154,000	105,000	138,000	265,000	253,000	255,000	208,000
Beauharnois (hydro)	250,000	250,000	250,000	250,000	267,000	261,000	261,000
Massena	75,000	75,000	75,000	75,000	75,000	75,000	75,000
Shawinigan Water and Power		0. 10. 10.000					
Company	40,000	40,000	100,000	198,000	276,000	359,000	452,000
Gatineau	·	_	20,000	30,000	37,000	50,000	67,000
Gaspe				25,000	41,000	48,000	51,000
Northwestern		_	-	86,000	86,000	85,000	53,000
Chibougamau	_	-		15,000	19,000	25,000	25,000
Northeastern (local)		_		-		70,000	77,000
Totals	1,636,000	1,701,000	1,944,000	2,390,000	2,671,000	2,926,000	3,174,000

The Commission delivers some 50,000 hp. on the south shore of the St. Lawrence River in the Gaspe area—power from its Bersimis plants transmitted across the river through a 69-kv. submarine cable, over a distance of 34 miles. The Commission also purchases about 25,000 hp. from the Saguenay Transmission Company for delivery to mining companies in the Chibougamau area. The recently completed Lac Ste. Anne reservoir on the Toulnustouc River controls the flow of the Lower Manicouagan River.

Power plant construction completed or under way in Quebec during 1960 is outlined at p. 579.

Ontario.—The Hydro-Electric Power Commission of Ontario is a corporate entity, a self-sustaining public enterprise endowed with broad powers with respect to the supply of electricity throughout the Province of Ontario. Its authority is derived from an Act of the Provincial Legislature passed in 1906 to give effect to recommendations of earlier advisory commissions that the water powers of Ontario should be conserved and developed for the benefit of the people of the province. It now operates under the Power Commission Act (SO 1907, c. 19) passed in 1907 as an amplification of the Act of 1906 and subsequently modified from time to time (RSO 1960, c. 300, as amended). The Commission may have from three to six members, all of whom are appointed by the Lieutenant-Governor in Council. One commissioner must be, and a second commissioner may be, a member of the Executive Council of the Province of Ontario.

The basic principle governing the financial operations of the Commission and its associated municipal utilities is that electrical service is provided at cost. The Commission interprets cost as including payments for power purchased, charges for operating and maintaining the power systems, and related fixed charges. The fixed charges represent interest on debt, provisions for depreciation, allocations to reserves for contingencies and rate stabilization, and the further provision of a sinking fund reserve for retiring the Commission's capital debt. While the enterprise from its inception has been self-sustaining, the province guarantees the payment of principal and interest on all bonds issued by the Commission and held by the public. In addition, over a period of nearly forty years the province has materially assisted the development of agriculture by contributing half the capital cost of rural distribution facilities.

For the financial and administrative purposes of the Commission, the province is divided into two parts. The roughly triangular part lying south of Lake Nipissing and the French and Mattawa Rivers is served by the Southern Ontario System, a fully integrated power system combining the Niagara, Georgian Bay, and Eastern Ontario Divisions. The System is operated on a co-operative basis predominantly for the benefit of more than 300 municipal electrical utilities supplied with power at cost but in part